~Slow Dancing With The Moon ~

Hey friends, yup it’s me, it sure has been a while!
I didn’t think I had much to say, or anything really.. Even now as I’m isolating myself from those I am closest, I have fallen down in a time lapse, you know what I mean? That whirl in your mind when you replay life events happy or horrible – it’s like your watching a film wishing you could almost always change the dialogue…

Well..As I was literally thrown in a whirlwind, tumble, tuck and roll into my past, I viewed moondanceit with the eyes of a child;  It was an awkward difficult time for me, when I felt lost, misunderstood, unwanted, unneeded and unloved, the only time I felt wanted was to do house chores.

I’d stolen my moms Dolly Parton compact disc (borrowed it really) I shut my door and I listened to one of the most strong beautiful bold women I admire still today, I say that I know her because I truly understood the lyrics because they fit perfectly into my soul while also my heart. I remember lying on my bed, tears steaming down my cheeks as I first heard “Slow Dancing with the Moon.”
This song actually radiated through my being, past, present and future.

Somehow having Dolly in my room made it a little less hard, a bit earlier to breathe, I’m not exactly sure how or why, but I still thank my parents for liking her music and allowing me to see a kind generous, sweet but fiercely strong woman; someone I’ve seemed to hold on to and with in me, all my life. I may not have her strength but I notice that I have embraced her way of love and kindness, the best I could imitate, until I sort of fell into my own being.

I maybe my own person now as an adult- but as I listen to Slow Dancing with the Moon, I remember being so lost within, literally embracing the moon as my dearest friend.

Thank you Dolly for showing me how to slow dance with the moon.

Slow Dancing With The Moon ~ Dolly Parton

“Slow Dancing With The Moon”

Sweet little cherry blossom, blooming before her time
Moving her lips to her favorite song, cherishing every rhyme
Swaying her hips to the rhythm, humming along with the tune
Lost in her own little dream world, slow dancing with the moon
Watching her I cannot help but go back in my mind
And suddenly I find I am 15 again
Slow dancing with the moon
Oh, the stars got in my eyes long time ago
And I’ve lived my life like a love sick clown
In a bittersweet cartoon
Just a dreamy-eyed kid slow dancing with the moon
Watching the girl I’m reminded she’s quite a lot like me
Trapped in the suburbs of wonderland, lost in her own fantasy
Somehow my heart never grew up, no one ever burst my balloon
So here I am swirling in star dust slow dancing with the moon
Still believe someday my wildest dreams will all come true
And I’ll find someone who’ll make me 15 again
But until then I’m slow dancing with the moon
Oh, the stars got in my eyes long time ago
And I’ve lived my life like a love sick clown
In a bittersweet cartoon
Just a dreamy-eyed kid slow dancing with the moon
Still a starry-eyed kid slow dancing with the moon
About ~Soul Prancing~

About me... or well us.. There is actually a few of us prancing in here, reminding each other there are options, there is grace, compassion, understanding and love in everything. This is a spot to pour out our souls as they prance along in this world, looking for the good, the light, while stepping out, over or around those dark difficult moments. We took a few days to settle on the right name, we had a hard time finding a name that captured beauty, gentleness and just an amazing space and joy of this painful, beautiful and wonderful process. We cannot do this alone, we are not meant to. Please feel free to join the journey of our souls prancing..take a walk with my soul... (almost all pictures are borrowed from other sources, they are not owned by us)
This entry was posted in compassion, grief, healing, Love Harmony, music, understanding and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your perspective

